Current Location: Home > About CAITEC >Leadership


Curriculum Vitae

Dr. Zhao Hong received her Bachelor of Law, Master of Law and Ph. D in Law from Peking University. She enjoyed a distinguished career of outstanding public service and academic achievements.

With rich experiences in legal, economic and trade fields, Dr. Zhao is best known for her expertise in intellectual property rights, trade, investment, competition policy, dispute settlement and the WTO law.

Dr. Zhao served as the Chairperson of the WTO TRIMS Committee and has been on the Indicative List of the WTO Dispute Settlement Panelists. Frequently invited to address international seminars and workshops as the keynote speaker, she always shared insights on trade, investment and dispute settlement with the audience.

As a prolific writer, she has been widely acclaimed as a thoughtful, authoritative and balanced expert on international law. Her prestige derives not only from profound knowledge and practical perspective, but also the broad vision and impressive precision concisely articulated in various books and articles.

Dr. Zhao was a Guest Professor at China University of Political Science and Law and is a Supervisor for LLM candidates at the Law School of Peking University.


Ÿ Vice President of Chinese Academy of International Trade and Economic Cooperation (2015-)

Ÿ Commissioner for Trade Negotiations and Acting Director General at the Department of WTO Affairs, Ministry of Commerce, China (2014-2015)

Ÿ Minister Counselor and Head of Legal Affairs at the Permanent Mission of China to the World Trade Organization, Geneva (a position at the level of Director General) (2012-2014)

Ÿ Minister Counselor at the Permanent Mission of China to the World Trade Organization, Geneva (a position at the level of Deputy Director General) (2009-2012)

Ÿ Deputy Director General of Anti-monopoly Bureau, Ministry of Commerce, China (2008-2009)

Ÿ Assistant to Representative for International Trade Negotiations (a position at the level of Deputy Director General), Ministry of Commerce, China (2004-2008)

Ÿ Director in the Department of Treaty and Law, Ministry of Commerce and its predecessor Ministry of Foreign Trade and Economic Cooperation, China (2002-2004)